Monday, Sept. 16
Latest News
  1. Palestinian goverment: 26 million in development of ministries
  2. Rudeineh: Washington us unable to achieve anything by itself
  3. US: “No plan for unilateral annexation by Israel of the West Bank"
  4. Cluster of incendiary balloons land in southern Israel
  5. Palestinian FM condemns Germany's vote to define BDS as 'anti-Semitic'
  6. Israeli forces forcibly evict Muslim worshipers from Al-Aqsa
  7. Israeli forces detain 14-year-old Palestinian near Ramallah
  8. Erekat: Deviation from peace terms of reference doomed to fail
  9. Iceland's Hatari shocks Eurovision with Palestinian flags
  10. UNRWA: 4 Palestinian children killed in attack on Syria refugee camp

President Abbas approves tasks of Executive Committee members

Aug. 2, 2018 11:55 A.M. (Updated: Aug. 3, 2018 10:16 A.M.)
RAMALLAH (Ma'an) -- Dr. Saeb Erekat, Secretary General of the Executive Committee, announced on Wednesday that Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas, Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), approved the distribution of tasks and departments to the members of the Executive Committee.

The distribution of PLO Executive Committee members will be as follows:

1. President Mahmoud Abbas, Chairman and head of the National Fund.

2. Saeb Erekat, secretary general and head of the Negotiations Affairs Department.

3. Hanan Ashrawi, Department of Diplomacy and Public Policy.

4. Taysir Khalid, member.

5. Ahmad Majdalani, Department of Work and Planning.

6. Saleh Raafat, Department of Military and Security Service.

7. Wassel Abu Youssef, Department of Popular Organizations.

8. Azzam al-Ahmad, Department of Arab and Parliamentary Affairs.

9. Ziad Abu Amr, Department of International Relations.

10. Bassam Salhi, Department of Social Affairs.

11. Adnan Husseini, Department of Jerusalem Affairs.

12. Ahmed Abu Houli, Department of Refugee Affairs

13. Ali Abu Zuhri, Department of Education.

14. Faisal Arnaki, Department of Human Development.

15. Ahmed Bayyoud Tamimi, Department of Human Rights and Civil Society.

16. The Department of Expatriate Affairs shall be under the authority of the Chairman.

17. The Secretary General shall follow up the files of the martyrs, prisoners and the wounded with the specialized parties.

President Mahmoud Abbas also issued a decree appointing Nabil Shaath as director of the Department of Expatriate Affairs and to supervise its work on a temporary bases.

The Executive Committee also decided to form a committee responsible for activating PLO's departments and institutions and insure their independence, as follows:

1. Taysir Khalid, Chairman.

2. Ahmad Majdalani.

3. Azzam al Ahmad.

4. Bassam Salhi.

5. Ahmad Abu Houli.

6. Faisal Arnaki.

7. Ramzi Khoury.

The committee established a Higher Committee to follow up on all that has to do with the mandate and operation of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA) and provide it with financial support to enable it to fulfill its responsibilities, as follows:

1. Ahmad Abu Houli, Chairman.

2. Ahmad Majdalani.

3. Azzam al Ahmad.

4. Ziad Abu Amr.

5. Faisal Arnaki.

6. Bassam Salhi.

The committee approved the report and recommendations submitted by the committee responsible for following up on the implementation of the National Council's decisions in April 2018. These included: defining security, economic and political relations with the occupying power - Israel, Palestinian reconciliation and foiling the "deal of the century", including the decision of United States President Donald Trump that recognized Jerusalem as the capital of Israel, and the transfer of the US Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem, as well as the attempt to drop the refugee file, and the adoption of the controversial Nationality Law as a focal point for the deal of the century, in addition to the resolutions of the National Council related to Jerusalem, women, martyrs, prisoners and wounded, in addition to other decisions.
Most Read
Powered By: HTD Technologies
Ma'an News Agency
All rights reserved © 2005-2015