Thursday, June 20
Latest News
  1. Palestinian goverment: 26 million in development of ministries
  2. Rudeineh: Washington us unable to achieve anything by itself
  3. US: “No plan for unilateral annexation by Israel of the West Bank"
  4. Cluster of incendiary balloons land in southern Israel
  5. Palestinian FM condemns Germany's vote to define BDS as 'anti-Semitic'
  6. Israeli forces forcibly evict Muslim worshipers from Al-Aqsa
  7. Israeli forces detain 14-year-old Palestinian near Ramallah
  8. Erekat: Deviation from peace terms of reference doomed to fail
  9. Iceland's Hatari shocks Eurovision with Palestinian flags
  10. UNRWA: 4 Palestinian children killed in attack on Syria refugee camp

Egypt grants 84 activists entry to Gaza

Dec. 30, 2009 10:05 P.M. (Updated: Dec. 31, 2009 5:20 P.M.)
Bethlehem - Ma'an - Eighty-four of the over 1,300 international activists in Egypt for the Gaza Freedom March entered Gaza on Wednesday via the Rafah crossing along with medical supplies after the Egyptian government gave the Codepink delegation the okay for travel.

Several smaller delegations taking part in the Freedom March, set to take place Friday, were denied passage into the northern Sinai by Egyptian security, and approximately 40 others were detained outside the American consulate in Cairo. Egyptian officials had earlier said none of the groups would be granted permission to access the Strip.

This is the third time a Codepink delegation has entered Gaza, and according to organizers, the group has permission to remain in the Strip for two days.

The rest of the 1,200 plus delegates were invited by organizers to march in Cairo in the direction of Gaza in solidarity with the people of Gaza, but noted that Egyptian police would likely arrest marchers, since large gatherings are prohibited under Egyptian law.

A statement from the group said "information sheets containing important legal information have been delivered to all participants."
Powered By: HTD Technologies
Ma'an News Agency
All rights reserved © 2005-2015